Wednesday, 23 April 2014

Petitions part 4

Collecting the Signatures


Instructions for collecting signatures for Woman's Suffrage Petiton
Alliance Record 11 July 1891 page 171
The Woman's Petition presented to Parliament consisted of more than 28,000 signatures.

The success in gathering so many signatures was largely due to a number of suffrage societies working together for the cause and the established network of branches of the WCTU throughout the state. Being able to publish regular reports and updates regarding woman suffrage and the collection of signatures in the petition in the bi-weekly Allianace Record meant that constant reporting of the project and its progress was available. Readers of the Alliance Record were aware of suffrage issues which had been discussed in articles in the paper in the months leading to the petition. The ladies of the WCTU had previous experience in collecting signatures for causes and when the word went out to collect signatures to create a Monster Petition the ladies were ready to comply.

Petitions part 3

1891 Woman's Petition and the 21st Century

The Woman's Petition has become the focal point for celebrating in Victoria the milestones in Australian political history.
 
Centenary of Federation
In 2001, as part of the Centenary of Federation activities, the Victorian Government sponsored a Women's Petition, for Victorian women to identify key issues for the next 100 years. The petition containing 41,487 signatures, was presented by Judy Maddigan MP to the Victorian Premier on 7 May 2001.

150 Years Parliament of Victoria

Online Index
In 2006, as part of the celebrations of one hundred and fifty years of Parliament in Victoria, an index consisting of 28,183 names of the women who signed the petition was made available online as the 1891 Women's Suffrage Petition.

The online petition was featured in the travelling exhibition, Bills Bells & Ballots -150 years of Victoria's Parliament during 2006.
Public access to the index and petition pages at Warracknabeal
 The petiton has become a valuable tool for family and local history research. Searches can be made for names of women who signed the petition or by locality for a list of names of women from a particular area who signed the petition. A number of research projects are being undertaken based on information in the petition.

Victorian Women Vote 1908-2008
In 2008, as part of Victorian Women Vote 1908 - 2008, the celebration of the centenary of women in Victoria receiving the right to vote in State Government elections, the 1891 Woman's Petition again featured in an exhibition at the Public Record Office of Victoria from March to June.There were also plans to commemorate the petition in a sculpture.

The 2008 Monster Petition Project aimed to collect 30,000 signatures acknowledging the achievement of the ladies collecting the signatures for the 1891 petition.

Petitions part 2

 Petitions

A petition is a "formal written request, typically one signed by many people, appealing to authority in respect of a particular cause" - Oxford English Dictionary. Petitions are a tool used to ascertain level of support for a cause. Petitions can also promote a cause by alerting members to issues covered by the petition.

Many petitions were collected and presented to parliaments in the campaign for woman suffrage throughout Australia and elsewhere in the world.
In the month that the Monster Petiton was presented to the Legislative Assembly a number of other petitions requesting womanhood suffrage were also presented including one smaller petition on the same day as the Monster Petition.

During the next 17 years petitions continued to be used to show the support for woman suffrage in Victoria. Signatures were also collected for petitons showing that women did not want the vote.
In New Zealand and in South Australia petitions also played a major role in the campaign for female suffrage.

New Zealand 
Suffrage display near Auckland Art Gallery
featuring New Zealand's monster petition
Photographer-Suzie Geemans
 In September 1893 women in New Zealand won the right to vote after campaigning for many years. The Woman's Christian Temperance Union in New Zealand was a major contibutor to the campaign for womanhood suffrage in that country. A major petition containing approximately 20,000 signatures was presented in 1892. This was followed by New Zealand's "monster petition" where pages containing 23,853 signatures were combined on a roll and presented with a further 7,000 signatures in 1883.

Further information about petitions and the campaign for womanhood suffrage in New Zealand:
Women's Suffrage Petition (New Zealand)

New Zealand women and the vote


South Australia
Women in South Australia received the right to vote in South Australian parliamentary elections in 1894. In August 1894 a petition containing 11,600 signatures asking for woman suffrage was presented to parliament.

Women's suffrage in South Australia

Chronology of Women's Suffrage in South Australia 

Petitions part 1

Petitions can be a valuable resource when researching family stories. Signatures are collected on a wide variety of issues to be presented to Parliament to show public support for an issue. Copies of petitions can sometimes be located in state or national archives.

One such petiton was the Woman's Petition - 28,000 signatures collected in Victoria in 1891 requesting the right for woment to vote for parliamentary representatives.

The posts in this section provide information provide background information on the history of the 1891 Woman's Petition, its significance in the social history of the times and the achievement of a number of women's organisations combining to promote their common cause - the right for women to have the vote. 

Having worked on the project to create an index of the names of the women who signed the petition I wanted to find out how in such a short period of time so many signatures were collected in 1891. Some of the information collected is included in the following posts. Since the initial research was undertaken in 2007 Trove provides access to an increasing number of digitised newspapers, including The Argus, with articles recording events relating to the suffrage and temperance movements.

The Woman's Petition

Image taken at PROV exhibition - Centenary of Women's Suffrage:
Signature stories
13 March - 16 June 2008
 At noon on the 6th May 1891 the Premier of Victoria, the Hon. James Munro, received a deputation on Womanhood Suffrage. The deputation was organised by by the Victorian Alliance in conjunction with a variety of temperance organisations. A number of parliamentarians were included in the deputation but the majority of those in attendance were women - primarily from the Woman's Christian Temperance Union (WCTU) but also from the Melbourne Women's Temperance Union and female members of other temperance organisations.

The meeting resulted in the decision to petition women in Victoria to prove that women wanted the right to vote.

On 11th July 1891 a petition appeared in the Alliance Record. The petition was circulated throughout the state. Completed petition sheets were to be forwarded to Marie Kirk at the WCTU office in Russell Street, Melbourne, by 20th August but the date was extended for another two weeks when the the introduction of the Constitution Act Amendment Bill was delayed.

At the WCTU office the collected petition pages were pasted on a fabric roll to form the Monster Petition. The petition consisted of more than 28,000 signatures and measured 260 metres.

On 29th September 1891 the Monster Petition was presented to Parliament.
During the debate on the Constitution Act Amendment Bill, the clause that would have granted women the vote was removed when it was obvious that there were not enough supporters for the clause in the Legislative Assembly.

Although women in Victoria did not receive the right to vote in Victorian parliamentary elections until 1908, the Monster Petition is accepted as a symbol for women's suffrage in Victoria.

In August 2007 the importance of the petition was recognised when it was placed on Heritage Victoria's register of Significant Objects for Victoria.

In February 2008 the petition was inscribed into the UNESCO Australian Memory of the World Register.

Use this link for further information about the collection of the signatures for the petition.

Saturday, 19 April 2014

52 Ancestors #18 Agnes Campbell Black

Locating information about some family members can be a challenge, especially when the family members are female. In order to locate information about Agnes Campbell Black I was fortunate in that a cousin of my father had given him some notes about the Thom family. Searching through Trove and gleaning what I could from Ancestry.com.au I have been able to trace some additional information about her life.

Agnes Campbell Black was born in Glasgow, Scotland on 5 December 1829. Her father was James Black (born c 1800) who was a baker. Her mother, Agnes Campbell, was probably born in 1805.

James and Agnes were married on 22 June 1822 and appear to have had six children - Janet Black (born 1824), Mary Stewart Black (1825-1914), Elizabeth Black (born 1827), Agnes Campbell Black, James Black (born 1833) and William Black (born 1836). In 1841 James and the children were living in High Street Lanark. There is no mention of Agnes in this or subsequent censuses so she possibly died prior to 1841.

Agnes Campbell Black married William Thom prior to the 1851 census where it was recorded that she and William were living at Lewes Land Argyle Street in Dunoon. William's occupation was  listed as a pastry baker (journeyman). He had therefore completed his apprenticeship but was not yet considered a master of the craft. By the 1861 census they were living at 139 New City Road, Glasgow. Two children were listed in the census - Archibald who was 9 (1852-1877) and Mary who was 5 (1856-1907).  Agnes and William had three other sons - William (date of birth unknown but born after the 1861 census, died 1942), James Campbell (1863-1929) and John Stuart (1868-1950). (The notice in  the newspaper about the wedding of James Campbell Thom and Annie Smith mentioned that James was the 6th son of the late William Thom of Glasgow but I have not found any record of other children.)

William Thom continued to develop his trade as a biscuit maker. An article in the Glasgow Herald in 1863 described how machines at one Glasgow biscuit manufacturer were being used to make biscuits. One imagines that William had developed a successful business as it was while on a business trip to France that he drowned in the English Channel. This would have been some time in the 1870s. No further information has been discovered about this event as yet.

Some years later Agnes decided to take her family to Australia, possibly around 1876 or 1877 as an obituary for James Campbell Thom, when he died in 1929, stated that he had been in Australia for about 52 years . The family settled in Sydney and appear to have quickly established themselves in their new country.

Archibald  (Archie) possibly came to Sydney before the rest of the family. In January 1876 he married Lydia Sly and they lived at Yass where he was principal master of Yass Grammar School. He died in May the following year, aged 25, a month before the birth of his daughter, Archia. In order to make a living Lydia advertised that she would run a school for young ladies, first in the Windsor area and then at Redfern.

Mary married James Glen who had come to Australia from Scotland in 1869. Mary and James had four children - William James McKinnon Glen (1878-1957), Isabella Glen (1880-1881), Walter Campbell Glen (1884-1864) and Archibald Thom Glen (1886-1956).

William (Bill) was an accountant. In 1893 he married Amy Gibbons. Amy died in 1912. In 1919 he married Mary Florence Mason (Florrie). Bill had an office at 57 York Street in Sydney but in their later years Bill and Florrie lived at Katoomba in the Blue Mountains.

John Stuart (Jack) was a lawyer in Sydney. He owned the company J Stuart Thom & Co. In 1893 he married Alice Burney.

James Campbell Thom was also a lawyer and for a while worked with his brother's firm before becoming Solicitor for the Railways and later in his career a barrister in the New South Wales Supreme Court. He married Annie Smith and they had two sons and three daughters. Annie died in 1911. In 1913 James married Annie's sister, Ellen.

In 1892 Agnes married William Wallace. After his death she lived with her daughter, Mary Glen. When Mary died in 1907 moved in with James and Ellen until her death in 1920. Originally they were living in a house named Camelot in Forest Road, Rockdale, but in 1920 were living in a house named Fenella in McKinnon Street, Lindfield. Agnes was 91 when she died.

The Campbell name, used as a second name for several generations in my family, was passed into the family via Agnes' mother, Agnes Campbell.

Agnes Campbell Black was my great (x2) grandmother.

Tuesday, 15 April 2014

52 Ancestors #17 James Campbell Thom

James Campbell Thom was born in Dunoon, Scotland in 1863. Dunoon is situated on the Cowal Peninsula, north west of Glasgow.  It is on the Firth of Clyde to the west of Loch Lomond. James' parents were William Thom, a merchant, and Agnes Campbell Black. William Thom was a biscuit manufacturer who was drowned in the English Channel while on a business trip to France.

According to his obituary (in the Sydney Morning Herald Friday 2 August 1929) James attended the Langside Academy in Glasgow. Langside Academy was built in 1858 to educate young ladies and young gentlemen and was located near Langside Wood. After the death of his father the family travelled to Australia, possibly in 1877, when James was about 14. In Sydney he attended the University of Sydney where he studied Law.

James had a varied and busy career. Initially he worked for the legal firm of Spain and Sly and when the partnership was dissolved he continued working with Dr George Sly. In 1887 James and his brothers William Thom and John Stuart Thom established a legal firm that was later known as J Stuart Thom & Co. In 1893 James left the firm to become the first Solicitor for Railways in New South Wales, a position that he held for 10 years. However an advertisement in the Sydney Morning Herald (12 August 1893) shows that he did not officially resign from J Stuart Thom & Co until 11 August 1913. James' next career move after working for the Railways was to return to private practice as a solicitor this time working at the firm of Piggott & Stinson. James completed graduated with a BA from University of Sydney in 1910 and some years later temporarily retired from being a lawyer to take up journalism. On 23 February 1928 James made another career change when his name was removed from the roll of solicitors and instead he was admitted as a barrister of the Supreme Court.

James was also involved with the military forces in New South Wales as illustrated in the following report from the Sunday Times 24 May 1896.It was notified in the Government Gazette of the 19th inst. that Captain James Campbell Thom (Second Infantry Regiment.) had been promoted to the rank of Major. Major Thom (who, by the way, is Solicitor for Railways) obtained his first commission as second lieutenant on February 20, 1890. and his captaincy on June 1, 1894, and he is believed to be the youngest major in the force. The promotion, though rapid, is felt on all sides to be thoroughly deserved, and the Major has already received many expressions of congratulation. 


When the New South Wales Railway Volunteer Corps was established in 1897 James was seconded from the 2nd Infantry Regiment, to be major commanding. The Evening News 6 January 1897 described the formation of the new volunteer corps:
The Governor in Council has approved of the establishment of the N.S.W. Railway Volunteer Corps, to consist of two companies, each of one captain, two lieutenants, one color-sergeant, four sergeants, two drummers or buglers, four corporals, and eighty-six privates, being 100 in a company. There will also be an 'officer commanding,' and a staff-sergeant from the Permanent Staff as instructor.

The Sydney Morning Herald obituary also mentioned James' sporting achievements when he was younger including participation in rowing and athletics clubs as well as playing Australian Rules Football.

On 2 November 1887 James married Annie Smith at her parents' home in Marrickville. Annie was the daughter of Charles Septimus Smith from Brixton, England, and Sarah McCallum from Glasgow, Scotland. Charles and Sarah married in Australia and Annie was born at Singleton in New South Wales. James and Annie had five children - Alec Osborne (born 1888), Nellie (born 1890), Agnes Campbell (born 1891), Enid Campbell (born 1897) and William (born and died 1898). Annie died suddenly in 1911 due to complications after surgery. On 2 October, 1913 James married Ellen Cumming Smith, Annie's older sister.

James and his family lived in a number of homes over the years including - Dunoon, possibly named after James' birthplace, Eurella Street, Burwood, Camelot in Forrest Road Bexley (part of Rockdale), Fenella, McKinnon Road, Lindfield, Chetwynd, Kimberley Avenue, Lane Cove and finally 80 Burns Bay Road, Lane Cove.

James died at St Heliers Private Hospital, Longueville, on 31 July 1929 and was buried after a private ceremony in the Presbyterian section of the Northern Suburbs Cemetery. James Campbell Thom was 66 years old when he died after leading an extremely busy life.

He was my great grandfather.

Thursday, 10 April 2014

52 Ancestors #16 Simeon Lord (junior)

Simeon Lord was born in Sydney in 1810, possibly on the 9th or 19th of May. His parents were Simeon Lord and Mary Hyde who had both come to Australia as convicts. Records show that he was baptised in 1810. Simeon had two older sisters and seven younger brothers. He also had a half brother and sister, his mother's children from a previous marriage. His father had also adopted a young girl, Joanna, whose parents had died when she was four. Consequently Simeon was a member of a large family. Simeon's father had had at least a basic education in England and he would have ensured that his children would have schooling in Sydney.

By the time Simeon was born, Sydney had been established for 22 years and was now a busy community. His father was an active figure in Sydney life and had amassed a good income as a trader, involvement in the sealing industry, manufacturing a variety of goods and had acquired grants of land in Sydney and other parts of New South Wales. His business interests had also extended to Tasmania and in April 1826, at the age of 15, Simeon junior was off to Tasmania to oversea his business interests in that colony. Articles in Tasmanian newspapers sometimes included the names of Simeon Lord and Thomas Birch in the same articles. Both men had similar business interests so this may have been how Simeon junior met the Birch family. Advertisements in newspapers show that once in Tasmania Simeon was engaged as a trader selling a variety of goods. He also began looking after his father's properties.
Bona Vista - Aussi Towns website
On 15 June 1831 Simeon, now aged 21, married Sarah Birch at St Matthew's Church, New Norfolk. (Marriage Record in Linc)

They lived on the family property, Bona Vista near Avoca south of Launceston. Bona Vista was primarily a sheep property consisting of 9767 acres on the Esk River. When the property was advertised for sale in 1862 the house was described as a 'family residence most charmingly placed, with numerous domestic offices, large barn, stable, coach house, cattle shed, and out offices all most substantially built of freestone, and enclosed in stone walls; in fact, the whole premises having been laid out by the present proprietor for his own residence and occupation, may with confidence be said to possess every requisite for a first-class establishment.' (Launceston Examiner 4 January 1862) The family also owned two other properties in the district, Grayfort and Emu Run. The additional properties, including a blacksmith's in Avoca, were let out to tenants.

Articles in newspapers help to construct a picture of life at the time. The Cornwall Chronicle 2 December 1843 described a social event - 'On the 23rd instant a ball and supper was given by Simeon Lord, Esq., at his residence, Bona Vista, when all the beauty and fashion of the district were present. The party were much pleased with the entertainment, and broke up soon after daylight.'
View of Bona Vista - Property Observer
Simeon placed a number of advertisements in newspapers advising that, 'Ajax, a handsome dappled grey horse, sixteen hands high, will stand for the ensuing season at Bona Vista, Avoca. This horse combines activity with great strength, and his stock is highly approved of, being considered well adapted for carriage horses....'
View of Bona Vista - Property Observer
Roaming stock caused a problem and from time to time advertisements appeared in the newspapers listing animals, often cattle, that had strayed on to properties and were now impounded and would be sold unless claimed.

Simeon employed many men, including ticket-of-leave men, to work on his properties either long term or for seasonal work. In 1844 he placed an advertisement directed towards farm servants - 'Wanted an active single man, as foreman or working overseer, who possesses a practical knowledge of agriculture, and the management of stock, and who has had considerable colonial experience. Testimonials required. Also, three ticket-of-leave men, for farming.' In November 1848 he needed shearers -'Wanted 10 good shearers, to commence on Friday the 8th of December next.'

There could also be also danger living on large properties. On 6 January 1853 bushrangers, James Dalton and Andrew Kelly, arrived at Bona Vista and herded all the occupants into one room where they proceeded to collect amounts of cash and items such as watches and jewelley. When the watch house keeper and two constables arrived at the property Thomas Buckmaster, the watch house keeper, was killed and one of the constables was shot. The bushrangers acquired additional horses from the property before departing to rob other properties in the area. Most members of the Lord family was in Hobart at the time of the incident, though the paper reported that Frank Lord (Francis) was present and was ordered to get horses for the bushrangers. The Tasmanian newspapers contained detailed descriptions of the raid and subsequent trial when the bushrangers were captured.

The Lords also rented then owned a house, Vaucluse, in Macquarie Street, South Hobart where they spent part of each year. In 1873 a newspaper advertisement for letting the property described the house. 'The house contains spacious drawing and dining rooms, parlour, library, five bedrooms, servants' room, storeroom, kitchen, and bathroom; detached are laundry, dairy and servants' room, stabling, coach house, cow house etc. There are over three acres of garden stocked with choice fruit trees, large hothouse, forcing frames, gardener's cottage, and two paddocks.' (The Mercury 15 March 1873)

Simeon Lord senior was well known for going to court to sort out his problems. Simeon would have learned from his father's experience so when there was considerable delay in settling the will of his father-in-law, Thomas William Birch, Simeon took the matter to court on behalf of the family to have the problems settled so that the land holdings could be sold with the proceeds divided among family members.

Simeon and Sarah had eleven children - two daughters and nine sons. One of the sons died at birth while two others died when young children. Most of the children were born at Bona Vista. The boys would all have gained the experience of working on a property and a number of them eventually ran properties of their own, particularly in Queensland. Their parents also ensured that they had an education initially with a governess. At least two of the sons received schooling back in England.

By the 1870s Simeon had decided to relocate north to Queensland and advertisements began to appear in the newspapers for leasing and later selling the Tasmanian properties. Some of his sons, including Frederick, had already moved to that colony. In Queensland Simeon had started to purchase properties. In March 1874 the Cornwall Chronicle reported that 'the Tasman s. s. ... took ten horses for Mr Simeon Lord, en route for Queensland, some of which were choice draught brood mares from the northern districts.' Properties purchased included Eskdale on the Darling Downs and Culloden West Station. Cattle were often moved from one property to another as noted in The Queenslander on 28 July 1877, 1000 cattle, belonging to Mr Simeon Lord, bound from Eskdale to Culloden, on the Thomson, crossed the Warrego at Caroline on the 4th.' In April 1875 the newspapers reported that Simeon had purchased Barataria No. 2, 100 square miles; St Mungo, 60 square miles; Culloden, 99 square miles; Glenullin, 90 square miles; St George, 100 square miles; Lochiel, 100 square miles; St David, 100 square miles and St Andrew, also 100 square miles. There are also reports of Simeon acquiring other properties.
Highmead 1931 - image from WikiMedia Commons
Simeon and Sarah owned Highmead in Upper Roma Street in Brisbane where they spent much of their time, especially in their later years. An article about Highmead appeared in The Queenslander 18 June 1931 including a copy of the above photograph. A number of alterations were made to the house by new owners after it was sold in 1894.

Simeon Lord died at Highmead on 15 June 1892. His obituary in The Mercury 28 June 1892 read: Another old resident has passed away Mr Simeon Lord, one of the oldest residents in Tasmania. He was the owner of various properties in Tasmania, including a choice estate at St Helen's, George's Bay, and many other good pastoral estates. In Queensland he owned much station property, and was throughout life a methodical, shrewd, and prosperous man of business.'

Sarah had died in Sydney when visiting family in January 1892 and had been buried at Dobroyd Cemetery. Simeon's body was taken to Sydney to be buried with his wife.

When probate was granted in December 1892 the estate was valued at £16,034 14s 2d. 

Simeon Lord was my great (x2) grandfather. 

Some references:
Bona Vista - Australian Heritage Database
Tasmanian National Trust - blog - Bona Vista (scroll to end of post)
Bona Vista today - YouTube 

Proposed sale of land of Thomas William Birch


Proposed Sale of Land Belonging to the Late Thomas William Birch Esquire

Thomas William Birch died in Hobart on 1 December 1821 yet, due to technicalities with his will, attempts to sell his properties were not commenced until 1837. The properties were finally sold in 1839. The following articles were located in Trove.

Important to the Public
STRACEY & BURN,
Have the honour to announce, that a sale of the whole of the property of the late Thomas William Birch, will take place as soon at the proper and necessary surveys and plans of the several properties can be made-for the convenience of purchasers, the property will be Subdivided, and as a further accommodation, a very liberal credit will be given.
AMONG other Lots belonging to this Estate will be sold
The Macquarie Hotel and Grounds
The House, Offices, and beautiful Garden now ocoupied by Gamaliel Butler, esq.
The Brick Built Edifices adjacent thereto
The late Residence, Garden and Grounds, of Thomas Horne, esq. in Collins Street
As also the Gardens lately known at Job Neal's
Also the Grounds on the opposite side
Then all the 100 Acres of Land in Macquarie street, including the Farming Establishment, Tannery, etc
That desirable situation in Macquarie Street, now occupied by Mr. Brunton
ALSO,
That valuable property at the Lovely Banks, as well as several other farms-full particulars of which will be duly advertised, when the plans and surveys are completed.
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 5 January 1838

LORD v. BIRCH.
Before a Special Jury
Mr Simeon Lord, of St. Paul's Plains, brought this action to try the validity of the will of the late Mr. Thomas William Birch. The evidence was of a very conflicting character, some of the witnesses deposing that Mr. Birch was not of sound mind when he made his will. Mr. Lord had married one of Mr. Birch's daughters. The property is said to be worth upwards of £40,000. After a very long trial the jury returned a verdict for the plaintiff, so the property will be divided among the children. Had the verdict gone for the defendant, the whole property would have been locked up, as it is said that the heir-at-law is of imbecile mind, and a ward of the Court.
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 23 March 1838

PURSUANT to a decree of the Supreme
Court of Van Diemen's Land, made in a cause wherein Simeon Lord and others are complainants, and Robert Knopwood and others are defendants, the Creditors of Thomas William Birch, late of Hobart Town, Esquire, deceased, [who died in or about the year one thousand eight hundred and twenty-one] are, on or before the tenth day of November, one thousand eight hundred and thirty-eight, to come in and prove their debts before the Honorable John Lewes Pedder, Esquire, Chief Justice of the said Court, at his Chambers, at the Court House, Hobart Town, aforesaid, or in default thereof, they will be peremptorily excluded tho benefit of the said decree.
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 28 September 1838

Friday November 9
Sale-Estates of the late Thomas William Birch, Esq., Macquarie-street, on the premises-Stracey & Burn.
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 2 November 1838

Birch's Estate.-:By the advertisement which appears 'in another portion of our columns this day, we perceive that the whole of this property is at last announced for peremptory sale in the course of a few days. It is to be hoped that the delay which has occurred may not have been hurtful either to the interests of the family, or to the estate itself.
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 2 November 1838

Macquarie Hotel Walls.
STRACBY & BURN WILL SELL BY AUCTION,
This Day, the 2d instant, on the Premises, at 12 o'clock, in Lots,
ALL those Brick Walls bounding the garden and premises of the Macquarie Hotel, Hobart Town, appertaining to the Estate of the late Thomas William Birch, Esq., fronting on Collins, Harrington, and Macquarie-streets, also forming the boundary fence between the above property and that of Michael Lackey, 'Esq. These Walls were built of the best materials ever produced in the colony, and having had the benefit of nearly half a century's seasoning are now more valuable than ever.
Payment will be required in cash, and the lots must be removed at the expense of the purchaser, within six days from the day of sale.
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 2 November 1838


THE ESTATE OF THE LATE THOMAS WILLIAM BIRCH, Esq.
STRACEY & BURN Feel great pleasure in announcing that they have at length received instructions to dispose of all the Real Estates of that gentleman, in obedience to which they will Sell by Auction, without any reserve, on the premises, commencing at II o'clock, on Friday, the 9th instant, in 74 Lots,
ALL those 100 Acres of Land, situated in Hobart Town, fronting on Macquarie, Liverpool, Goulburn, Davey, D'Arcy, Adelaide, and Anglesea-streets; also on Marine and Nile Terraces, intersected by the town rivulet, aqueduct, and other water courses ; in the immediate vicinage of the mansions and residences of J. H. Moore, W. Proctor, Hugh Ross, G. M'Killop, T. Learmonth, E. Hodgson, and J. Hackett, Esquires; also, the lands of Messrs. Harris, Dunkley, and Hurst ; the Glebe and Salvator Rosa Glen.
This very desirable property has been most judiciously divided and subdivided into lots,   varying in size, and presenting very peculiar eligibilities, so that persons seeking sites for private   residences upon the scale of a chateau or a cottage, will find spots to which even the stern sceptic must yield; then of no ordinary description are the natural facilities so fully presenting themselves in varied situations, which nature seems to have specially prepared for the election of mills, breweries, manufactories, and tanneries, (one of the latter, by the bye, long established, will be sold with lot 49).  
THE SOIL is deep and luxuriant, with an even surface, and the Botanist, Horticulturist, and Florist, need hardly be reminded their labours will never elsewhere meet the certain reward here so specially afforded them. Building material abounds, and to be brief, it would be difficult indeed to decide under which head to class the supreme advantage so evident upon each and every lot.
Payment will only be required as follows: Purchasers under £100 shall pay a cash deposit of 25 per cent, on the amount of purchase, and the remainder on the 9th November, 1839, with interest at 10 per cent, per annum; purchasers   above £100 and not exceeding £300, shall pay a cash deposit of £20 per cent , and the remainder by two equal instalments, on the 9th November, 1839, and 9th November, 1840, with interest, payable half-yearly, at the rate of 10 per cent, per annum; purchasers to the amount of £300 and upwards, shall pay a deposit of £15 per cent, and the remainder in four equal instalments, on the 9th November, 1839, 9th November, 1840, 9th November, 1841, and 9th November, 1842, with interest, at 10 per cent, per annum; but any purchaser will be at   liberty to pay the full amount of his purchase, with the interest that may be due thereon, at   any time within the prescribed period.
Printed particulars and conditions are in the press, and will be ready for delivery (gratis) in a few days, on application to Dr. Westbrook, Hobart Town; Simeon Lord, Esq , of Avoca;   Edmund Hodgson, Esq., Hobart Town; Mr. William Birch, Launceston ; Mr. Henry Birch, Mr. George Birch, and Mr. Arthur Sutcliffe, of Hobart Town ; Stracey & Burn, the Auctioneers Elizabeth-street; and Mr. James Thomson,   Surveyor, Liverpool-street, Hobart Town.
Printed particulars and conditions will also be left at the principal Inns throughout the Island.

STRACEY & BURN Are happy in at length being placed in the situation to have the honour to submit to public competition, without the slightest reservation, on Monday, the 12th instant, at 12 o'clock, THAT very valuable portion of the Estate of the Late Thomas William Birch, Esq , situated in the most desirable parts of Hobart Town.
The property to be sold on that day will be divided into sixty-one Lots, among which will be the Macquarie Hotel.
This, it is perhaps unnecessary to state, is a very large, substantial brick-built edifice, comprising numerous elegant, lofty, well-proportioned rooms, with extensive cellarage, out-offices, and buildings, garden grounds, yards, &c; and as a   family hotel, so much required in this metropolis, is in situation and internal arrangement more suitable than any other. But not to confine  these premises to that business alone, the Auctioneers confidently assert such buildings are suitable for any large establishment, either public or private.
Of those Premises in Macquarie and Harrington-streets, many years in the occupation of Galamiel Butler, Esq., sufficient is proclaimed of their extent, convenience, and peculiar comfort, by the veritable circumstance of so lengthened an occupation, by that gentleman.
That centrical and enviable Residence, long tenanted by Thomas Horne, Esq., with the delightful Garden, refreshed at the back by never-failing streams, is a property justly enviable.
As a matter of speculation and profit those Two Brick Cottages, at the comer of Hartington and Collins-streets, present irresistible inducement.    
For building, with a certain security of tenancey, the Premises now occupied by Mr. Brunton, In Macquarie Street, which will be sold in two lots, stand altogether unequalled.     
Those Large Allotments taken off the Macquarie Garden, fronting on Victoria, Collins, Macquarie, and Durham-streets, from their advantageous locality, either as residences for private gentlemen, bankers, merchants, professional men, for chambers or offices, unspeakably recommend themselves.
That Allotment between the Macquarie Hotel and the property of Michael Lackey, Esq., is a situation of all others most eligible for a Wine and Spirit Merchant.
The corner of Mr Butler's beautiful Garden, fronting on Macquarie and Harrington- streets, offers from its numerous local advantages, the best situation in town for a Gin Palace on the London Principle.
The Two Blocks of Land, between Collins Street and the Hobart Town Rivulet, hitherto known as Job Neal's Garden, come under that class of property deserving general and individual scrutiny. So densly is Hobart Town now studded with buildings that it is impossible a similar centrical extent of land can again be found for A Market: and the severe reproach of after ages would be avoided by this selection for that purpose. As a mere matter of private speculation it would prove A Mine of Wealth If however sold, as divided in 28 lots, the ingenuity of description gets at fault, in attempt- ing to discover which is the most valuable of the number, either public or private.
Payment will be required from purchasers under £100, in cash at the rate of £25 per cent., the residue to be paid on the 9th November, 1839, with interest at 10 per cent, per an- num. Purchasers of £100 and not exceeding £300 will be required to pay a deposit of £20 per centum, and the remainder in equal proportions on the 9th November, 1839, and on the 9th November, 1840, with interest at the rate of 10 per cent, per annum. From purchasers to the amount of £300 and upwards a deposit of £15 per cent cash will be required, the residue in equal proportions payable on the 9th November, 1839, 9th November, 1840, 9th November, 1841, and 9th November, 1842, with interest at 10 per cent, per annum.
But !! any purchaser may pay the whole of   his purchase on the day of sale or at any other time most convenient, with the interest that may be due thereon.
Printed particulars and conditions of sale are in the press, and may be had (gratis), in a few days, on application to Dr. Westbrook, Hobart Town ; Simeon Lord, Esq., of Avoca;   Edmund Hodgson, Esq., Hobart Town; Mr. William Birch, Launceston; Mr. Henry Birch,   Mr George Birch, and Mr. Sutcliffe, Hobart Town; Messrs. Stracey & Burn, the Auctioneers, Elizabeth-street ; and Mr. James Thomson, Liverpool-street, Hobart Town ; also at all the Inns and places of public resort through- out the Island.

Agriculturists in General, And particularly those gentlemen who have so repeatedly inquired when the Sale of the valuable Farms of the late THOMAS WILLIAM BIRCH, Esq , would take place, are now respectfully informed, by STACEY & BURN, that at their Mart, on Friday, the I6th inst., at one o'clock, they are instructed to submit to the Hammer, positively to the highest bidders, THE following FOUR VALUABLE ESTATES: -
Lot I.
Fifteen Hundred Acres of Land, most appropriately called The Lovely Banks, with the dwelling-houses, barns, stabling, out- building, farm yards, &c.
The Auctioneers feel it would be a waste of time to enter into detailed particulars in an advertisement, those general and minute advantages of which it is impossible to divest this Estate. The situation on the main road, from the earliest formation of the colony, having rendered its value and beauties a topic of the utmost notoriety; the agreeable distance from   Hobart Town, the opening it affords for an Inn, the extent and value of the grazing land for sheep, the fertility of the soil, are only to be considered among a few advantages wholly unalienable from this Estate.

Lot II.
Two Thousand Acres of Land, situated at the Hollow-Tree Bottom, with all the buildings, yards, and erections thereon. This Estate is equally well known as lot one, and will prove to those unacquainted with it, one of the best farms in the colony. The soil is of the luxuriant and most valuable description, and to be its possessor alone, is to have the command of an independence.

 Lot III
Will comprise Two Hundred Acres, called The Duck Holes, situated near Richmond, on which is a Dwelling-house, yards, &c, a considerable portion is in cultivation, and securely fenced. Any per- son satisfied with ease and competency, will find this property exactly meet their views and wishes.

Lot IV
Will be a small Farm of Thirty Acres, called LYNCH'S, with a neat cottage and buildings, all securely fenced and cultivated, situated at Kangaroo Point. The contiguity of this little property to Hobart Town, renders it of incalculable value to any person desirous of relief after the fatigues of business in town, independent of which, for the extent, it is productive in an extraordinary degree.
Payment will be requested by a cash deposit at the rate of 15 per cent, on the day of sale, the residue to be paid in four equal instalments, on the 16th November, 1839, 16th November, 1840, 16th November, 1841, 16th November, 1842, with interest at the rate of 10 per cent, per annum, payable half-yearly, unless any purchaser prefers paying cash, which he may do on the day of sale, or at any subsequent period, with the interest due.
Printed particulars and conditions of sale are in the press, and may be had (gratis) in a few days, on application to Dr. Westbrook, Hobart Town; Simeon Lord, Esq., Avoca; Edmund Hodgson, Esq., Hobart Town; Mr. William Birch, Launceston; Mr. Henry Birch, Mr. George Birch, and Mr. Sutcliffe, Hobart Town;   Messrs. Stracey & Burn, Auctioneers, Elizabeth-street, and Mr. James Thomson, Liver pool-street, Hobart Town.
The above information is taken from The Hobart Courier Friday 2 November 1838 page 3.
Similar information was also in The Hobart Courier Friday 9 November 1838 page 3
However in The Hobart Courier Friday 16November 1838 page 3 the following notice appeared:
Particular Notice
MESSRS. STRACEY & BURN beg to state, the sale of BIRCH'S ESTATE is postponed.

1839
In the Supreme Court of Van Diemen's Land-in Equity, TO BE SOLD IN LOTS, PURSUANT to a Decree of the Supreme Court of Van Diemen's Land, made in a cause of Lord and others v. Knopwood, since deceased, and others, with the approbation of His Honor the Chief Justice, on the premises, sometime in the month of January, 1839, of which due notice will be given, certain PREMISES situate in and near Hobart Town, late the property of Thomas William Birch, Esquire, deceased.
Particulars whereof may in a short time be had, (gratis), at the office of the clerks of the Supreme Court; of Messrs. Cartwright and Allport; Mr.Stanley; Messrs.Butler and Son; and at the offices of Messrs. Horne and Wynne.
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 4 January 1839 page 3

Monday February 25
Sale-Land in Macquarie-street, Davey-street, and Liverpool-street, the property of Thomas William Birch, Esq -Mr, Stracey
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 22 February 1839 page 2

To be Peremptorily Sold, Pursuant to a decree of the Supreme Court of Van Diemen's Land, in equity, made in a case Lord versus Knopwood, with the approbation of the Hon. John Lewes Pedder, Esq., the Chief Justice of the said Court, on the premises, on Monday, 25th day of February, 1839, at 11 o'clock in the fore- noon, in seventy-five lots, BY MR. STRACEY, The Person appointed by His Honor, ALL those several pieces or parcels of Land, save and except lot fifty-seven, situate in and near Macquarie-street, Davey-street, and Liverpool-street, in Hobart-town, late the property of Thomas William Birch, Esq.
Printed particulars and conditions of sale whereof may be had (gratis) at the office of the Clerks of the Supreme Court; of Messrs. Cartwright and Allport; Messrs. Horne and   Wynne; Messrs. Butler and Son; and Mr. Stanley, solicitors, Hobart-town ; and of Messrs. Stracey and Burn, auctioneers, Eliza- beth-street ; and of Mr. James Thomson, surveyor, Liverpool-street, Hobart-town,
(Signed) J. L. Pedder, C. J. February 13.
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 22 February 1839 page 3

Tuesday March 5
Sale-Premises of the late Thomas William Birch, Esq., in Macquarie, Harrington, and Collins-streets-Mr. Stracey
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 1 March 1839 page 2

To be Peremptorily Sold, Pursuant to a Decree of the Supreme Court of Van Diemen's Land, in Equity, Made in a Cause of Lord v. Knopwood, With the appropriation of the Hon. John Lewes Pedder, Esq , the Chief Justice of the said Court, On the Premises, on Tuesday, the 5th day of March, 1839, at 11 o'clock in the fore- noon, in sixty-one lots, BY Mr. STRACEY, The person appointed by His Honor, ALL THAT MESSUAGE OR TENEMENT, called and known by the name of the MACQUARIE HOTEL In Macquarie Street, Hobart Town, with the Garden thereunto belonging, and also all that Messuage or Tenement, Situate and being in Harrington Street, Hobart Town, with the Garden thereto be longing, now in the occupation of GAMALIEL BUTLER, ESQUIRE.
AND ALSO, ALL THOSE Two Messuages or Cottages, In Harrington Street, in Hobart Town, with the Garden thereto belonging, now or Late in the occupation of Mr. Edgar and Mr. Cooke.
AND ALSO, ALL THAT Messuage or cottage, Situate and being in Collins Street, Hobart Town, with the Garden thereto belonging, late in the occupation of THOMAS HORNE, ESQUIRE.
AND ALSO, ALL THAT MESSUAGE OR COTTAGE, With the Workshops and Garden thereto adjoining, in Macquarie Street, in Hobart Town, now in the occupation of Mr. BRUNTON
AND ALSO, ALL THOSE GARDENS AND PIECES OF LAND, in and near Collins Street, Harrington
Street, and Macquarie Street, lately in the occupation of JOB NEALE AND OTHERS, Late the Property of Thomas William Birch, Esquire
Printed Particulars, and Conditions of Sale, whereof may be had (gratis) at the office of the Clerks of the Supreme Court; or at the offices of Messrs. Cartwright and Allport, Messrs. Horne and Wynne, Messrs Butler and Son, and Mr. Stanley, Solicitors; Messrs Stracey and Burn, Auctioneers; and Mr. James Thomson, Surveyor, Hobart Town.  
(Signed) J. L. PEDDER, C. J. Feb. 13, 1839
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 1 March 1839 page 3
[NB: A messuage is a dwelling]

To be Peremptorily Sold, Pursuant to a Decree of the Supreme Court of Van Diemen's Land, in Equity, made in a cause Lord v. Knopwood, with the approbation of the Honorable John Lewes Pedder, Esq., the Chief Justice of the said Court,  AT THE ROOMS OF STRACEY & BURN, In Elizabeth Street, Hobart Town, On Saturday, the 11th of May, at one o'clock In Four Lots, BY MR. STRACEY, The Person appointed by His Honor, ALL that Messuage or Tenement, commonly called and known by the name of the Lovely Banks, together with the land thereunto belonging, and the barns, stables, sheds, and other out-buildings thereon, containing 1,900 Acres of Land, situate, lying, and being in the district of Green Ponds, Van Diemen's Land.
And also, all those 2,000 Acres of land, situate, lying, and being in the district of Bath, in Van Diemen's Land, with the house, sheep, and cattle yards thereon, and now commonly called and known by the name of the Hollow Tree Bottom
And all that Estate called and known by the name of Duck Hole Farm, Containing 200 Acres of land.
And all that Piece or Parcel of Land, containing Thirty Acres, situate, lying, and being at or near Kangaroo Point, Richmond, in the district of Clarence Plains, Van Diemen's Land, commonly called and known by the name of  Lynch's Farm, Late the Property of Thomas William Birch, Esq.
Printed particulars and conditions of Sale may be had (gratis) at the office of the Clerks of the Supreme Court, or at the offices of Messrs. Cartwright and Allport, Mr. Blizard Stanley, Messrs. Horne and Wynne, Messrs. Butler and Sons, Solicitors; Messrs. Stracey and Burn, Auctioneers ; and Mr. James Thom- son, Surveyor, Liverpool-street, Hobart Town.
(Signed) J. L. PEDDER, C.J.
The Hobart Town Courier Friday 26 April 1839 page 3

Tuesday, 8 April 2014

52 Ancestors #15 Sarah Birch

Sarah Birch was born in Hobart on 13 October 1814. She was the fourth child of Sarah Guest and Thomas Birch but her sister, Ann, had died three years earlier. Her older brothers were Samuel (born 1809) and William (born (1812). Her parents had another three children, Eliza (born 1816), Henry (born 1818) and George (born 1820).

Hobart Town in Van Diemen's Land (later Tasmania) had only been established 10 years previously so was still a small, but busy, community when Sarah was born. The economy of the colony depended on sealing, whaling, timber getting and trade with Sydney, England and India. Thomas Birch was involved in all these activities and was becoming a wealthy man. The year after Sarah was born her father had built Macquarie House, a three story brick house in Macquarie Street. As many of the other buildings in Hobart Town were still wattle and daub structures, Macquarie House was a prominent building. As well as being a family home, Thomas stored and sold cargoes of merchandise that had arrived from overseas.

When Sarah was seven years old her father died leaving her mother with six children aged between twelve and one to look after. Although the family was well off there were complications with Thomas' will and the large amounts of land available owned by the family could not be sold until 1839.  An advertisement appearing in the newspaper shortly after the death of her father showed that Sarah's mother was attempting to carry on the family business. In March 1822 Edmund Hodgson arrived in the colony and newspaper advertisements shortly after his arrival show that he began selling goods on behalf of Sarah Birch.

On 23 November 1823 Sarah's mother married Edmund Hodgson. Between 1825 and 1834 six more children were added to the family. As the eldest daughter, Sarah may have helped look after her younger siblings and half siblings until she married Simeon Lord junior when she was 16.

Sarah married Simeon Lord (the eldest son of the convict also named Simeon Lord) on 15 June 1831 at St Matthew's Church in New Norfolk. St Matthew's was built in 1823 and consecrated in 1828. Although there have been many alterations to the church over the years, St Matthew's is Tasmania's oldest church still holding services today in part of the original building.
St Matthew's Anglican Church, New Norfolk today
Simeon's father had business dealings, including grants of land, in Tasmania and his name appeared from time to time in the same newspaper reports that referred to the business dealings of Thomas Birch, Sarah's father. Hobart was a small community and although Thomas Birch was no longer alive when Simeon junior arrived in the colony in 1825 he probably knew of the Birch family. This possibly led to an introduction to Sarah.

Initially Simeon was a trader selling goods and livestock in Hobart. By 1830 Simeon and Sarah were living at Bona Vista, a property near Avoca south of Launceston. This was one of three agricultural properties owned by the Lord family. They also had a house, Vaucluse, in Macquarie Street, Hobart, which they lived in for part of the year. In 1873 they started selling their Tasmanian properties in preparation for moving to Queensland. Many of their children had already moved north and established themselves in Queensland. In Queensland Simeon purchased a number of properties including Eskdale and Culloden, but they also had a house, Highmead, in Roma Street, Brisbane where they spent much of their time.

Sarah and Simeon had eleven children - Francis (1832-1918), Louisa (1833-1866), William (1836-1906), George (1837-1841), Edward (1838-1839), Emma (1840-1918), Frederick (1841-1914), Robert (1844-1878), Simeon (1847-1816) and Alfred Percy (1852-1927). Another son was stillborn on 19 May 1854. Another two sons died as young children. The newspapers reported that Edward died of whooping cough on 9 August 1839, aged nine months while George died unexpectedly on Friday evening 12 February 1841, aged three years and nine months. The eight surviving children, six sons and two daughters, grew to adulthood and led successful lives. 

Education of the children appears to have been an important part of their upbringing. In 1849 Sarah placed advertisements in newspapers for 'a respectable young lady as governess' for the children. The obituary for Frederick Lord includes the information that at the age of 10 he was sent to England where he attended Blackheath Proprietary School and then Kings College School on The Strand. In the England 1861 Census the name of Robert S Lord appears on the list of pupils living at the home in Pultney of one of the masters of Kings School. Whether the other sons were also educated in England is not known at present.

No doubt Sarah and Simeon were proud of the contributions made to the development of the colonies by their family members. The boys tended to follow their father's pastoral interests owning large properties, particularly in Queensland, though Edward and Frederick were also Members of Parliament. Robert worked in the goldmines of Gympie. Louisa married William Tully, a surveyor who later became Surveyor General of Queensland, and they had three children. Unfortunately Louisa died two months after the birth of her third child (who also died two months after the death of her mother). Emma married Lieutenant George John Taylor Airey (later Colonel) of the Royal Marines and Royal Australian Artillery and they had six children.

Sarah died in Sydney on 30 January 1892 when visiting her daughter, Emma, and her family. The following report about Sarah appeared in The Brisbane Courier on Thursday 4 February 1892:

A well-known figure is lost to Brisbane society in the person of Sarah Lord, wife of Simeon Lord, of Highmead, Upper Roma-street. She was known amongst a large circle of friends, but more especially in connection with charitable institutions. It is much to be feared that a constant attendance on official duties week after week reduced her failing strength too much before her recent visit to Sydney. In connection with city institutions she was on the committees of the Lady Bowen Hospital, North Brisbane Benevolent Society, the Governesses' Home, and on the committee as vice president of one of these almost ever since her arrival in the colony some fifteen years ago. She was born at Hobart, Tasmania, on the 13th, October, 1814, married 15th June, 1831, and died on Saturday morning last at the residence of her son-in-law, Colonel Airey, Victoria Barracks, Paddington, Sydney. Her loving, genial nature and keen interest in the welfare of her fellow creatures will be sorely missed by a large portion of the community.

 Sarah Birch was my great (x2) grandmother.

Sunday, 30 March 2014

52 Ancestors #14 Sarah Guest

Sarah Guest was born on Norfolk Ireland on 1 May 1792. Her parents were convicts, George Guest and Mary Bateman. Norfolk Island was settled shortly after the British arrived in Port Jackson in 1788 in order to grow food, flax, timber for masts and other supplies urgently required in the new settlement in Sydney. Mary Bateman arrived on Norfolk Island on 7 August 1790 while George Guest had arrived on the island on 7 January 1790. They married in November 1791 when the Rev. Richard Johnson visited Norfolk Island. The convicts had been encouraged to farm their own land in order not to be dependent on government supplies and over time George acquired additional land, eventually building his holdings to 250 acres, and was successfully farming on Norfolk Island. Records show that he grew maize and raised pigs and sheep - by 1805 the flock of sheep was reported to number close to 950. This was the world in which Sarah spent her childhood. She had three younger brothers born between 1794 and 1804. Her sister, Mary, died in 1804, aged one, and was buried in what is now the Old Cemetery on Norfolk Island. Sarah, being the eldest daughter, would have been expected to help with the younger siblings and also would probably have had chores to do on the farm.

In September 1805 Sarah and her family left Norfolk Island to settle in Tasmania. She was thirteen when the family travelled by ship to what was to be their new home. They were to be given land in Tasmania equivalent to what they owned on Norfolk Island. Initially the family was granted 24 acres at Macquarie Point and her father spent the rest of his life arguing with authorities in order to build up his property interests in the state.

When she was 16 Sarah married Thomas William Birch, a surgeon who had recently arrived in the colony. They were married at St David's Church in Hobart on 12 September 1808. There is some uncertainty about the actual age of Thomas Birch but he was considerably older than his wife and possibly only a few years younger than her father. Thomas would have been in his forties, or close to 40, when he married Sarah. Between 1809 and 1820 Sarah and Thomas had seven children - Samuel (born 1809), Ann Riley Birch (born 6 October 1810 died 24 April 1811), William (born 1812), Sarah (born 1814), Eliza (born 1816), Henry (born 1818) and George (born 1820).

Hobart had only been established as a settlement in 1804, the year before Sarah and her family arrived. The initial buildings would have been wattle and daub huts. Thomas did not practise as a doctor but instead became involved in the lucrative whaling and sealing industries, timber-getting, ship building and selling ships' cargoes as they arrived in the colony. Thomas also acquired large holdings of land in Hobart and other parts of Tasmania. In 1815 Thomas had built the three storey brick house at 151 Macquarie Street, Hobart where his family lived and from where he could conduct his business.
Macquarie House - 151 Macquarie Street, Hobart
The family had  now established a comfortable life-style in the new colony. In December 1815 Thomas paid for James Kelly to explore part of the Tasmanian coast and during the expedition Sarah had an island, Sarah Island, named after her. When Governor Macquarie visited Van Diemen's land in April 1820, the Birch family moved out of the house in Macquarie Street for the three months of the Governor's visit so that their home temporarily became the residence of the Governor. No doubt they spent the time in one of their other properties.

But Sarah's life was about to change. On 1 December 1821 Thomas William Birch died and was buried on 7 December in the cemetery at St David's Church, Hobart. Sarah was a widow at 29 with six children to look after, the youngest only 1 year old. Thomas had left a will prepared shortly before he died that 'devised his real Estates to Trustees for sale'. There were complications and nothing happened until 1838 when Thomas' son-in-law, Simeon Lord jnr, questioned the validity of the will. The properties were believed to have been worth more than £40,000 - a huge sum of money. In November 1838 the properties were advertised for sale with the 100 acres in Hobart divided into 74 lots. There continued to be discussions as to how the properties were to be sold complicated by the Court declaring that proceeds from the sale should be paid to the Colonial Treasury which would keep any interest accrued and then distribute proceeds of the sale to those entitled. The sale of the lots making up the 100 acres owned by Thomas Birch in Hobart were eventually sold in March 1839, more than 18 years after his death. 

On 29 November 1823 Sarah married Edmund Irton Hodgson who had arrived in Hobart from England aboard the Castle Forbes in March the previous year. Sarah and Edmund had six children: Charles Alfred (1825-1885), Fanny (1826-1880), Ann Jane (1828-1880), Edmund Irton (1830-1874), Frederick Lampla (1831-1878) and Walter (1834-1890).

The Hobart newspapers contain many references to Sarah and especially Edmund. Edmund set himself up initially selling goods that had arrived via ship in the colony. Sarah had continued operating many of Thomas' business interests including selling merchandise and soon advertisements appeared in the paper advising that Edmund Hodgson was selling items on behalf of Mrs Birch. Once they were married he became more involved in the family business as well as operating his own business interests. These included the operation of the Cascade Tannery in the 1820s and early 1830s. Sarah and Edmund converted the house at 151 Macquarie Street into a hotel which, although they owned the buildings, other people were the licensee including Robert Stodhart and James Cox. In the 1830s Edmund became licensee. The building was sold in August 1840. Edmund had over-stretched himself financially and in order to pay his debts, in 1841, he convinced his wife to surrender part of her claim to her former husband's property. Sarah, with the assistance of her family, later took the matter to court arguing that she had been coerced into signing the legal documents. Eight years later the judge agreed with her family which halted any further payments of Edmund's debts. The Hobart Courier provides detailed descriptions of the case including descriptions provided by Clara Birch and George Birch of the conditions of their mother's marriage and how she had been distraught before signing the papers in 1841. The court proceedings made it clear that the claimants to the money were unaware of the coercion applied by Edmund Hodgson.

In 1847 Sarah and Edmund built a large house, Islington, on land he had purchased when the Birch property had been sold. They never lived in the house but used the rent as a source of income.
Islington is now a boutique hotel in Hobart
They also built Glen House near the intersection of Macquarie Street and Glen Street and this house became the family home.
Glen House, Macquarie Street, Hobart
In July 1849 Edmund and three of his sons departed Hobart aboard the William Melville for California. A paragraph in the paper the previous month noted that Edmund was planning to take nine prefabricated buildings to sell when they got there. One suspects they planned to make their fortune on the Californian goldfields but only stayed a short time before returning to Tasmania.

Sarah died on 31 March 1868 at her home, Glen House, in Hobart. Sarah, who was seventy-five when she died, had led an eventful life and seen many changes in the development of Hobart during her lifetime.

Sarah was my great (x3) grandmother.